Our tax dollars at work

Two days a week I get to take an hour-long bus ride to work.  I love this bus ride because it gives me time to wake up, get my brain running, listen to music and enjoy the scenery.  On this bus route – near the end of my ride there is street construction going on.  This construction has been going on for several months at this point and I made an interesting observation about it today.  As we drove past the construction site I saw numerous workers standing around doing nothing.  I saw one worker with a shovel moving loose gravel off the road into the dirt on the shoulder.  There was such a little amount of loose gravel on the road that he would have been much more efficient using a wide based broom than a shovel.  I shook my head in disbelief as we continued on our ride, thinking to myself “That’s our tax dollars at work”.

As we continue down the road I see machinery standing idle, I see groups of workers standing around chatting, and I see one more worker handling a jack hammer.  Out of the 20 workers I saw, only 2 were working and only one was working effectively.  I think to myself what the cost of repairing this road must be, and how much of that cost is pure fluff – wasted time and resources – and I cringe.  It’s no wonder our country’s deficit is so high when so much money is being wasted.

As I’m writing this I remember an incident a couple of weeks ago involving a set of police officers.  I was at my brother’s bar socializing and one of my friends points out that there are two officers at the door of the bar speaking with the bouncer.  At first we all postulate on what could be going on.  As we watch however we realize that the officers are just socializing like we are.  My friend then points out that the officer’s vehicle is idling at the corner – engine sucking down gas by the second.  Initially we all chuckle at the waste of resources but we quickly get distracted by other shiny objects.

An hour or so later a group of us go back outside to smoke and see that the officers are still at the door chatting with the bouncer and their vehicle is still at the corner idling.  I didn’t put much thought into it at the time but in retrospect I’m appalled at the officers lack of consideration for a dwindling resource – not to mention the emissions coming off the vehicle the entire time it’s running. 

I realize that there is little I can do about our governments frivolous spending – but I can certainly rant about it.  I can certainly tell others of my observations in an effort to open the eyes of the citizens of this country.  Too many people are drugged and asleep – they are unaware of the wrongs that are being committed by the people we are supposed to look to for protection and support.

And so I speak – the entire time shaking my head at the inept way our tax dollars are put to work.

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Global Change and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

