Period Poem

7 am – I wake up, my mind alert my soul at peace, I’m ready to face the day.

10 am – I feel the beginnings of a migraine, nothing I can’t handle.

11 am – The migraine is raging inside my skull – lights, sounds smells bringing ever-increasing pain.

Noon – Nausea sets in, my mouth is dry my brain on fire – am I coming down with something?

3 pm – I can take no more.  I need my zen space and my bed – my day is not yet through, I must continue on.

5 pm – NAUSEA – I can feel it creeping up my throat, making my mouth water.  RUN FOR THE BATHROOM! And I purge – tomato water comes hurling out of my mouth.

7 pm – Home at last – taking some Benadryl to relax and sleep…OR NOT! Nausea again! Run for the bathroom – more tomato water mixed with Benadryl.

8 pm – My bed is calling me persuading me to rest my head and enter the dream world.  I don’t know whats wrong but sleep cures all ails.

4 am – PAIN!  EXCRUCIATING PAIN!  I’m ripped out of my dream to the reality of my uterus on fire!  I moan and curl into a ball, trying futilely to fall back asleep.  I cannot – I’m in too much pain. 

5 am – The THC gods have granted me peace.  The nausea, the pain the migraine are all abating and now I know what’s wrong with me.

Damn you Period!!!

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

    • lol! I was miserable the day that I wrote this, so I decided that rather than being absorbed in my misery I would laugh at my pain. It worked well! Glad you enjoyed this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

