Music saves my soul

This morning I was extremely upset and stressed out.  On my way into work I was – as usual – listening to my music.  For some reason the lyrics and melody of Jason Mraz always seem to soothe my soul, put things into perspective and cheer me up.  Today the song “The Remedy” was my saving grace.  Following are the lyrics with my thoughts interjected at the end:

Well I saw fireworks from the freeway
And behind closed eyes I cannot make them go away
’cause you were born on the 4th of July (freedom ring)
Well something on the surface it stings
I said something on the surface
Well it kinda makes me nervous
To say that you deserve this
And what kind of God would serve this
We would cure this dirty old disease
Well, if you gots the poison
I gots the remedy

[Chorus]
The remedy is the experience
This is the dangerous liaison (I says)
The comedy is that it’s serious
This is a strange enough new play on words
I say the tragedy is how you’re gonna spend
The rest of your nights with the light on
So shine the light on all of your friends
Well it all amounts to nothing in the end

[Bridge]
And I won’t worry my life away
Hey hey hey, oh oh
I won’t worry my life away
Hey hey hey, oh oh

Well I heard 2 men talking on the radio
In a cross-fire kind of new reality show
Uncovering the ways to plan the next big attack
Well they were counting down the ways to stab a brother in the Be right back after this
The unavoidable kiss
With the minty fresh death breath is sure to outlast this catastrophe
Dance with me
Well if you gots the poison, I gots the remedy

[Chorus]

[Bridge]

When I fall in love, I take my time
There’s no need to hurry when I’m making up my mind
You can turn off the sun, but I’m still gonna shine
And I’ll tell you why
Because

“something on the surface stinks” yea…that would be the government.

Ah!  “The remedy is the experience”…Think about this.  If I just go through life enjoying each experience as it comes along, not worrying about what will be the outcome of the experience – but just enjoying it for what it is, or knowing that it will end soon (if unenjoyable) I will have much less stress in my life.

“The tragedy is how your gona spend the rest of your nights with the light on…”  When one worries they tend to not sleep as well – hence the light on all night, every night.  And the next line “so shine the light on all of your friends”.  Well that certainly makes sense.  If you are going to be awake and not sleeping you might as well enjoy the company of those you love right?  “when it all amounts to nothing in the end”.  Therein lies the solution my friends – the remedy so to speak.  If you are enjoying each experience as it comes, making the best of it and sharing your light and love with your friends, guess what – it DOESN’T amount to NOTHING!  That double negative equals IT MEANS SOMETHING!  When you are enjoying your experiences and sharing your life and your light with your friends you’ve altered your and their lives…you’ve made a positive impact on someone – that’s what it’s all about in the end.

So I continue listening to this and other songs and my spirits lift.  I look out the window of the bus and I see the beautiful blue sky, I see birds flying across the clouds, I see the leaves changing colors – and I smile. 

I tell you what.  I won’t worry MY life away.  I’ll continue to be the loving, kind, hard-working woman I am – enjoying each experience as it comes and sharing my light with everyone I encounter.

Be well my friends and I hope each of you has an amazing weekend!

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on October 5, 2012, in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

