Here kitty kitty kitty!

I’m a property manager for low-income properties.  The organization I work for prides itself on being eco-friendly whenever possible.  One of the properties I manage has had a rampant mouse infestation for several years which we have not been able to control using conventional eco-friendly methods such as bait traps, sonic shields, etc.  Several months ago I was chatting with a friend of mine about this problem and she suggested that we get a couple of mouser cats for the property.  It sounded like a feasible idea – if I could get permission from the powers that be.  My friend did some research and gave me the name of an organization who she thought could assist.

I contacted The Alley Cat Project and spoke with Deborah.  She was kind and helpful in her information.  She came out to the property to see what type of set up we could arrange and we formulated a plan.  Now I just needed to get my bosses on board.  When working with non-profit organizations one needs to realize that everything moves at a snail’s pace.  There is a lot of red tape and regulations to consider.  Last week I finally got the approval I need to bring a cat onto the property.

Last night I went and bought cat litter and food.  The Alley Cat Project is providing me with a cage, litter box and feeding towers.  I’m meeting our new community kitty today.  Deborah has told me that he’s a big Tomcat who was neutered recently.  He had been living in a colony of cats that they rescued and has been living with a foster family.  This cat recently fathered a litter of kittens and once they are weaned we are going to be bringing mamma kitty to the property as well so that mamma and papa can be friends and keep each other company.  We should be getting her in a couple of weeks.  I’ve already talked with several of my tenants about helping to make the cats feel welcome and they are all on board.  I’m absolutely thrilled about this project and I believe that having a cat on premises will be the most natural way to resolve our mouse problem.

I would like to give a special thanks to my friend who suggested this (you know who you are) and to The Alley Cat Project for all the great work they do in my community!

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Global Change and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

