My Heavy Conscience

As a property manager for low-income tenants I generally feel very good about the work I do for those less fortunate than myself.  I’m grateful every day that I have a job where I’m in a position to make a real difference in people’s lives.  Most of the time the differences I’m able to make are positive ones.  Every once in a while, not so much.

Recently I was required to evict a tenant due to him not complying with the house rules of our complex.  This former tenant is elderly and borderline Dementia or Alzheimer’s.  His condition is not severe enough at this point for the state to step in and mandate that he be moved to assisted living yet it is severe enough for him to not have a complete understanding of the processes and reasons for his eviction.

This gentleman has now been living in his car which was parked on the street outside the building he was evicted from.  Over the past several weeks he continuously asked other tenants to find out from me when he would be able to move back into his apartment as though he thought he was just being grounded for bad behavior.  Several tenants attempted to get him some help and get him into a shelter or some other type of care facility but he refused the help.

Today one of my tenants came to me and told me that he was going to take the elderly gentleman to a nursing home.  At that time the elderly gentleman went into cardiac arrest and the paramedics were called.  He was suffering from severe dehydration and shock due to the cold weather.  The paramedics were able to revive the gentleman and took him to the hospital.

My conscience tells me that this tenant should never have been evicted.  He should have had some type of supportive services, someone whom he trusted and could confide in to provide him with guidance and assistance.  These services were not provided to him because of  how our government is designed.  I’ve had several people tell me not to let it bother me – that I was only doing what I am required to do by my employers.  That’s not good enough for me.

I believe in basic human rights.  I believe that as a human being we should be afforded basic services and dignities.  I see daily that we “lesser” humans do not receive those basic human rights.  We “lesser” humans are pushed aside, fall through the cracks and are only valued for the workforce that we provide for the powers that be.  I am at the very core of my being appalled that this type of situation was allowed to occur in our great country.

I suppose – on the positive side (because I always try to look at the positive) that now this gentleman will be able to get the assistance he needs.  I hope that he will recover from this incident and be moved to a care facility where he can relax and enjoy the rest of his life on this fucked up planet.

Fin

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Global Change and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

