Karma – Written Aug, 2009

I had a great experience this morning and wanted to share it with everyone, but there is some background so stay with me.

Every morning where I get off my bus to go to work there is a homeless man on the corner. He is very nice and always has a smile, a wave and a “have a good day” for everyone he meets. During the time that I have worked at my job, I have gotten to know this man a little bit, and I can see that he has a good soul. There have been times when I have brought him ice cold water on a hot day, fruit that I knew he needed, cigarettes (daily) among other things. I do this because I can see that there is truly a need as well as an immense gratitude on his part.

This morning I went to a different bus stop than usual to catch my bus. As I was standing there, a bus drove by with the number that I usually take posted. The bus didn’t stop and the driver just pointed behind him, as though I was supposed to be at the stop back (it’s an express so it has limited stops). Frustrated and on the phone with the phone company I started walking so that I wouldn’t be late for work waiting on the next bus.

As I’m walking down the street, another bus goes by, this time the real bus I usually catch (I knew this because it’s the same driver every morning). I was unfortunately no where near one of the stops this bus uses. As I walked up to the corner, it was a red light and my bus was stopped there. I motioned to the bus driver to please let me on, which he did. Now you must understand that were his superiors or the police to observe this, or were it reported, he would be reprimanded and possibly fired. Even more so because he was in the Left turn lane and I actually had to walk through the stopped traffic to get on the bus.

I expressed my thanks to the driver and rather than letting the little mishap ruin my day, joked about what had happened with my fellow passengers. I discovered during this conversation that the first bus which had passed me, just had the wrong information posted on their sign.

While exiting the bus at my work stop, I again thanked the bus driver. As he was pulling off, I saw the homeless man wave at the bus driver as he does every morning. I walked down to the corner where the man was and gave him the customary morning cigarette. I briefly told him what had happened with the buses and then went on my way.

As I walked down the street I started thinking about Karma. I have tried diligently to lead my life the best way possible. I try to be honest, loving, supportive, happy, etc. As I look around at all that I am blessed with, I realize it is a direct result of the way I live my life. I have some of the most amazing friends on the face of the planet. I have a roommate that loves me more than life itself. I have a dream job where I am valued, trusted, appreciated and mentored to achieve excellence.

I would like to try a social experiment. Those who are with me on this strive to do or say something kind to someone whether a stranger or a friend every day for a week. At the end of the week reflect back on your experiences to see if you are happier, more loved, more appreciated, etc. I believe that if everyone in the world were to follow this pattern, we would live in Utopia. Lets each do our part to strive for that!

Thank you to all of my friends and family who love and support me in spite of my shortcomings! I love you all very much!

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on March 28, 2013, in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I posted this because yesterday morning I had someone try to wish bad Karma on me. What that person didn’t realize is that Karma and I have a mutual respect for each other. The result of this person wishing bad karma on me – they slept in a parking garage all night hoping for someone to show up who never did, while I had a most blessed evening with my brother and dear friends. Now that my friends is Karma.

Leave a Reply

