Maintaining Thyroid Health on My Own Terms

Ten years ago I was disgusted with my body image.  I weighed more than I ever had in my life and nothing seemed to work to loose the weight.  I went to the doctor for help and found that I have Hypothyroidism.  At the time I weighed 230 pounds and on my tiny 5 foot tall frame, I was bigger around than I was tall.  I was tired all the time, my depression was raging, I was in pain constantly, I was miserable.  I found that all of these things were related to my thyroid not functioning well.  I was put on medication and the weight started melting away.  I stayed on the medication for about 4 years.  The weight disappeared, but I had started loosing my hair because of the medication and my depression and pain did not dissipate.

Six years ago I moved out of state, lost my insurance and was no longer able to get the medication necessary to maintain my thyroid function.  At that point I started walking everywhere I went, and began slowly changing my diet to include more healthy foods.  With this work I was still able to maintain the weight I’d reached and my depression and pain began to lessen.  The last time my thyroid was tested my levels were just under borderline so there was no need to go back on medication.  I wouldn’t have even if it had been suggested to me, since I felt I was maintaining health via my own means.

I was however unable to repair the hair loss I’d suffered from the years of medication.  I didn’t want to use any of the Rogaine type products because they require continued use for the rest of your life, and because I have naturally thick and curly hair, the loss was really only noticeable to me, so I just lived with it.  Two years ago I was introduced to the joys of Virgin Unrefined Coconut Oil as a replacement for lotion and baby oil, which I’d been using on my skin and in my hair.

I loved the results of the oil.  My skin was healthy, silky soft and my hair began to look better than it ever has.  I’ve been using coconut oil religiously ever since and a most amazing thing has happened.  I have new hair growth.  Every day when I look in the mirror and see small curly cues of hair popping up everywhere on my head I just smile.  I’ve maintained the same weight for the past several years.  I no longer suffer from debilitating depression and pain, and my hair is luxurious and healthy.  With the use of exercise, eating right, meditation and coconut oil all symptoms of my thyroid disorder have disappeared.

I guess it just goes to show that this planet provides naturally for us everything that we need to be healthy and happy individuals.  Medications are not always necessary to treat problems that we have with our internal systems.

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Health and Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Keep on working, great job!

  2. Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great
    content on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  3. Hello! I just wish to give you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info
    you have here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  4. You need to be a part of a contest for one of
    the best blogs on the web. I am going to highly recommend this blog!

  5. Thanks very nice blog!

Leave a Reply

