The Four Agreements

First I would like to apologize for not posting in so long.  I guess that’s what happens when your world gets turned upside down by the Universe granting you your deepest desire of re-uniting your family (well – most of it anyway).

But I digress – this post is about something different.  I am a work in progress.  I am far from perfect but I strive every day to do my best to improve the human that I am.  One of the ways I keep my sanity is by singing.  I sing pretty much every where I go, even in crowded public places.  Typically the response I get is either praise or people simply ignore me.  Today for the first time in my life, my singing disturbed someone and they asked me to stop singing because they didn’t want to hear the song.  I’ll admit – I was shocked and hurt.  The song I was singing was a love song, not hurtful, mean, caustic or obtuse.  Of course I stopped singing to comply with this person’s request, but as I stood there packed like a sardine on the public bus, my anxiety started increasing and before I knew it tears were rolling down my face.  This is when the amazement began.  My sister gave me the best advice I have heard in a long time.  It’s called the four agreements and they are as follows:

1- Be impeccable with your words.
2- Don’t take anything personally.
3- Don’t make assumptions.

4- Always do your best.

I typically don’t struggle with the first agreement – unless my emotions are very high.  I also work daily to adhere to number four.  It’s those middle two which I seem to have the most difficulty with in my life, and which cause me the most problems.

My first lesson for today is to not assume – you know they say when you assume you make an ass out of you and me.  I don’t know why this person didn’t want to hear the song I was singing and it is wrong of me to assume anything with regards to their reality.

My second lesson for today – and this one is a difficult because it’s something I do all the time – don’t take anything personally. The four agreements explain “Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be a victim of needless suffering.”  What a powerful lesson that was for me.

Today I will continue to work on not taking anything personally and on not making assumptions.  I will also strive to write more often as that is another way I keep myself sane, and if people don’t like what I write, they don’t have to read it. 🙂

Be well wordpress readers! Have a blessed day.

About Ms Fihaki

Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m supposed to write about me – who I am as a person and I really don’t see the sense in that considering that when you read my posts you will learn more about me as a person than you would from any 500 word statement I could make. I will however play by the rules – just this once. I’m 36 years young. I consider myself a strong independant and beautiful woman (hey! I wrote about that! Check it out!). I’m single and love it. Just over a year ago I made some serious lifestyle changes which include eliminating alcohol from my diet, being more physically active, eating healthier and daily working on my spirituality. One of the things which has happened as a result of these lifestyle changes is that I’ve gained a level of clarity I never knew was possible. With this clarity comes the realization that my words affect the lives of those around me. I’ve always been much better at writing than at speaking. If I can affect people the way I do from speaking, just imagine the effect I can have with the written word! I had been blogging about my secret life doing sensual massage – but I wasn’t getting a lot of traffic or interraction from that blog. Upon the suggestion of several friends I decided to start this – my public blog. My hope is that this will allow my readers to interact with me, a real live human being and that together we can create a ripple effect of positivity throughout the universe! (yea I dream big – it’s a must!) Anywho – I sincerely hope you enjoy the things I have to say and interractions are welcome and encouraged! Be Well!

Posted on July 8, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

